var urls = ["https:\/\/chimpstatic.com\/mcjs-connected\/js\/users\/16a3f8fc5e8d29fdb197a5bcb\/9490b25f98b29176be50240f2.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","\/\/www.powr.io\/powr.js?powr-token=bespoke-british.myshopify.com\u0026external-type=shopify\u0026shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/cdn-app.sealsubscriptions.com\/shopify\/public\/js\/sealsubscriptions.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","\/\/d1liekpayvooaz.cloudfront.net\/apps\/customizery\/customizery.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/seo.apps.avada.io\/avada-seo-installed.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/s\/files\/1\/2659\/1436\/t\/88\/assets\/pu_26591436.js?v=1642419777\u0026shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/s\/files\/1\/2659\/1436\/t\/97\/assets\/loy_26591436.js?v=1644575004\u0026shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/shopifycloud\/apple_business_chat_commerce\/assets\/storefront\/apple_message_button_v2.js?businessId=7c1557c9-b939-404f-9f9a-04d0dcab7d34\u0026format=small\u0026position=bottom_right\u0026shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/dttrk.com\/shopify\/track.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","\/\/api-eu1.hubapi.com\/scriptloader\/v1\/25869165.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/shopifycloud\/shopify_chat\/storefront\/shopifyChatV1.js?api_env=production\u0026button_color=%23202a36\u0026button_style=icon\u0026i=chat_bubble\u0026p=bottom_right\u0026shop_id=Ozh79EDhzD6RhzLwcamljHLa_UuF_flP-zO716xIrDc\u0026t=chat_with_us\u0026v=1\u0026shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","https:\/\/geolocation-recommendations.shopifyapps.com\/locale_bar\/script.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com","\/\/cdn.shopify.com\/proxy\/2a20d69f1336a7cdb9abd67c39654ba25a6911a9ed18f229a58831c8fcd69d5d\/session-recording-now.herokuapp.com\/session-recording-now.js?shop=bespoke-british.myshopify.com\u0026sp-cache-control=cHVibGljLCBtYXgtYWdlPTkwMA"];
L'histoire – Conway Stewart

Conway Stewart à travers les âges | est. 1905 à nos jours

L'histoire

1905

Le début

En 1905, M. Frank Jarvis et M. Tommy Garner ont formé Conway Stewart & Co. Limited au 13 Paternoster Row EC1, à côté de la cathédrale Saint-Paul à Londres. Aujourd'hui, cette zone est connue sous le nom de Paternoster Square après avoir été réaménagée après sa destruction complète lors du Blitz de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Bien qu'il y ait beaucoup de débats concernant les origines du nom de la société, on pense que le nom "Conway Stewart" dérive d'un acte de vaudeville populaire de l'époque. Conway et Stewart étaient censés être un double acte comique qui est apparu au Collins Music Hall à Islington. Les deux entrepreneurs ont pris un grand risque en quittant leurs emplois sécurisés pour démarrer une nouvelle entreprise de revente de stylos plume fabriqués par d'autres fabricants. Ils concentrent leurs énergies et investissent dans l'importation de stylos des États-Unis.

Londres en 1905

Après un mois laborieux

de vente persistante de leur stock, ils ont récolté les fruits d'un chiffre d'affaires plutôt sain de plus de 13 £ et 9 shillings. C'était une grande réussite étant donné que le loyer de leurs locaux commerciaux n'était que de cinq shillings par semaine. Même si ce chiffre d'affaires plairait à de nombreuses nouvelles entreprises, la force de De La Rue sur le marché des stylos-plumes a rendu impossible pour l'entreprise de continuer à vendre des stylos-plumes sans nom. La même année, De La Rue aurait investi 50 000 £ dans une campagne de promotion pour son nouveau lancement, l'Onoto. Cependant, Garner et Jarvis ont rapidement reconnu qu'il y avait un public désirant de bons instruments d'écriture fiables et abordables. C'est alors que Conway Stewart a commencé à conquérir un marché parmi les Anglais. Jarvis et Garner ont développé un seul objectif, produire des instruments d'écriture élégants et beaux, mais fonctionnels - un principe que Conway Stewart reste fidèle à ce jour.

Les années dorées

Les années folles ont été l'âge d'or des stylos plume et Conway Stewart a été placé au cœur de cette expansion mondiale.

Londres dans les années 1920

Les années 1920 furent une excellente décennie pour les courageux propriétaires. Non seulement ils ont déposé le nom de l'entreprise «Conway Stewart», mais leur liste de mécanismes de remplissage disponibles s'est également étendue pour inclure des compte-gouttes, des remplisseurs à levier, des remplisseurs à pompe et des sécurités. Alors que le premier de ces stylos était presque impossible à distinguer des autres de cette période, en 1925, Conway Stewart prenait tout son sens en termes de design.

Une marque pour le nom "Dinkie" a été enregistrée en 1924, ainsi qu'un brevet pour un nouveau mécanisme de levier de verrouillage. Conway Stewart gagnait rapidement en popularité et en demande. À tel point qu'ils prenaient des parts de marché aux autres fabricants de stylos dominants. Une autre introduction à cette époque était l'utilisation de celluloïd aux couleurs vives. Dans les années 1920, Conway Stewart proposait des dizaines de couleurs différentes dans ses différentes gammes, et le client pouvait choisir entre le simple et conservateur, le brillant et gai ou le carrément flamboyant.

Les stylos de cette période étaient très bien faits et de haute qualité, mais restaient abordables. La large gamme de modèles et de matériaux a permis à Conway Stewart d'offrir vraiment "quelque chose pour tout le monde" en matière de stylos plume. Ce prix raisonnable et ce marketing réussi ont contribué au succès de Conway Stewart pour la prochaine décennie. Ils investissent dans de nouveaux locaux en 1927, qui deviendront leur siège social pendant les deux décennies suivantes. Lorsque la dépression des années 1930 a frappé, Conway Stewart était dans la position enviable de commercialiser des stylos considérés comme «de bonne valeur».

Bien que cette décennie se soit avérée être un point bas pour Conway Stewart en termes de profit, ils ont réussi à surmonter la dépression avec succès. Les plastiques colorés sont rapidement devenus une signature pour Conway Stewart. Il est intéressant de noter qu'ils n'ont pas désigné de titres pour leurs créations. Les noms que nous reconnaissons aujourd'hui ont été adoptés par les collectionneurs au fil des ans. Par exemple, Cracked Ice et Reversed Cracked Ice ont été utilisés pour bon nombre de leurs modèles pendant plus de 25 ans, ainsi que Tiger Eye, un autre favori.

Au milieu de la décennie, Conway Stewart était prêt à se développer et, en 1935, ils sont devenus publics, avec des actions offertes pour lever des capitaux. Les campagnes publicitaires ont réussi à maintenir le nom de Conway Stewart au premier plan de l'esprit du public, à peu près de la même manière que la publicité de Sheaffer, Parker et De La Rue. Les années 1950 se sont avérées être la continuation de «l'âge d'or» pour Conway Stewart, nombre de leurs matériaux de cette époque étant aujourd'hui très recherchés par les collectionneurs du monde entier.

Le motif à chevrons et de nombreuses versions de couleurs marbrées sont très populaires aujourd'hui. Encore plus remarquable est le Number 22 Floral, avec son motif fleuri sur fond crème. Aujourd'hui, plus de cinquante ans après son lancement, les discussions autour du Floral sont encore nombreuses. La production était-elle limitée en raison de la complexité du matériau ou le marché n'était-il pas prêt à accepter un plastique aussi exotique ? Quoi qu'il en soit, chaque fois qu'une menthe n ° 22 Floral est mise en vente aujourd'hui, il y a toujours un public exigeant de collectionneurs de stylos.

Malheureusement, les années 1950 ont également inauguré l'ère du moulage par injection pour la fabrication de stylos. Cela a conduit à l'utilisation de plastiques de couleur unie à la place des merveilleux celluloïdes à motifs. En 1957, la ligne Conway Stewart était représentée avec des stylos qui, bien que toujours très bien faits et des écrivains fiables, n'étaient pas dans la même ligue en termes d'apparence. C'est à cette époque que les premiers stylos à bille sont proposés par Conway Stewart.

années 1940 | Londres déchirée par la guerre

La fin d'une ère

Les années 1950 ont fourni le dernier des grands modèles de Conway Stewart. L'entreprise a commencé à stagner dans les années 1960 alors que le marché se tournait sans relâche vers le stylo à bille jetable. L'entreprise a persévéré en essayant de suivre les tendances du marché avec son stylo à bille et aussi en lançant le 106, un stylo à cartouche monté avec une pointe semi-capuche. Dans les années 1960, l'entreprise a été vendue et délocalisée au Pays de Galles, où le dernier stylo a roulé de leur plancher de production en 1975. Suite à un investissement important dans la recherche et le développement, une nouvelle ère a commencé avec un accent sur la fabrication de stylos pour ceux qui apprécient l'artisanat traditionnel, des objets d'une beauté et d'une utilité intemporelles, et le plaisir d'utiliser un stylo fin. Sans parler du nombre toujours croissant de collectionneurs de stylos à travers le monde qui chérissent le nom de Conway Stewart et tout ce qu'il représentait en tant que plus grand fabricant de stylos de Grande-Bretagne. Ainsi est née une nouvelle ère de Conway Stewart.

Londres dans les années 1950

L'aube du deuxième âge d'or

Les années 1990 voient Conway Stewart renaître de ses cendres, la société lance une gamme de stylos en or massif ; "The Gold Collection" pour présenter le travail de maîtres artisans anglais dans divers domaines, y compris la peinture à la main, l'émaillage et la gravure. Ces pièces fantastiques qui peuvent se vendre pour 10 000 £ (18 000 $) et plus perpétuent la tradition d'excellence de Conway Stewart et sont de bons compagnons pour les stylos des générations précédentes. En 1996, le modèle Churchill a été introduit pour célébrer la vie de Sir Winston Churchill et son intérêt prolifique pour l'écriture et la littérature tout au long de sa vie. Pour célébrer le centenaire de l'entreprise en 2005, la nouvelle série One Hundred a été lancée, produite dans diverses résines faites à la main. Accompagnant le 100, les superbes stylos Silver Duro sont arrivés sur le marché. Fabriqué à partir d'argent sterling anglais pur recouvert d'un placage de résine, le Duro en argent sterling fait écho aux grands designs de l'ère édouardienne. Plusieurs éditions limitées ont également été lancées pour célébrer le 100e anniversaire de Conway Stewart, détaillées sur notre page des éditions limitées. Les propriétaires de Conway Stewarts modernes sont en excellente compagnie, car les stylos Conway Stewart ont toujours été le choix préféré des personnes les plus exigeantes et les plus célèbres du monde entier et cette tradition se poursuit à ce jour. Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II et le duc d'Édimbourg ont reçu deux stylos Conway Stewart de «The Gold Collection» pour commémorer leur anniversaire de mariage en or. Le Premier ministre britannique Tony Blair a offert au président russe Poutine un stylo plume Conway Stewart Churchill Burgundy lors d'une visite d'État en Russie et le président français Jacques Chirac a reçu un Brown Marble Churchill pour célébrer son 70e anniversaire en 2002.

Londres dans les années 1990

2005

Conway Stewart, stylo choisi pour le sommet du G8

Au cours de laquelle le Premier ministre Blair a présenté un ensemble Conway Stewart No 58 à chacun des dirigeants mondiaux du G8. Le président Bush et le président Clinton ont tous deux possédé des stylos Conway Stewart. Conway Stewart a également créé des stylos exclusifs pour de nombreux comptes prestigieux d'entreprises et de gouvernements, notamment la Royal Air Force, les Red Arrows, Rolls Royce, Mensa, ainsi que de nombreux autres comptes d'entreprise de haut niveau. Rick Wakeman, rock star et passionné de stylos, possède une grande collection de stylos Conway Stewart dont il est fier à juste titre.

2014 à nos jours

L'histoire de Conway Stewart continue...

En août 2014, les portes de l'usine Conway Stewart Plymouth se sont soudainement fermées lorsque l'entreprise est entrée en administration. Était-ce la fin ? 

Londres 2021

Heureusement, une société appelée Bespoke British Pens Limited a acheté la majeure partie du stock de l'usine de Plymouth et tous les dessins techniques de tous les stylos. Les administrateurs étaient Alastair Adams (précédemment directeur général d'Onoto), David Cooper (précédemment directeur marketing d'Onoto), Peter Robinson (précédemment directeur général de Carville qui fabriquait les composants des Parker Duofold et Onoto) et Francis Katz (un avocat, collectionneur passionné de stylos et propriétaire d'Inkwell Pens).

Basés à l'origine sur l'île de Wight, ils ont ensuite créé un atelier à Emsworth dans le Hampshire, près de l'endroit où vivait leur directeur de production, Peter Robinson. Au début de 2015, ils ont commencé à assembler des stylos Conway Stewart à partir des composants d'origine et les ont vendus dans le monde entier directement au public via le site Web et par l'intermédiaire d'un petit nombre de détaillants sélectionnés. La gamme de stylos Conway Stewart en vente sur le site Web s'est agrandie chaque mois à mesure que de nouveaux stylos étaient lancés en utilisant les matériaux d'origine acquis à l'usine de Plymouth. 

La gamme comprenait les Churchill, Winston, Series 100, Series 58, Wordsworth, Wellington, Nelson, Marlborough, Belliver, Capulet, Dandy, Bard, Coronet, Duro, Henry Simpole's : Marilyn Monroe pen, Raleigh et Regency. 

Ces stylos utilisaient les plumes originales de marque CS achetées aux administrateurs, mais bientôt ces plumes ont toutes été vendues, de sorte que les plumes semi-flexibles en or Flag 18ct ont été lancées. Le "drapeau" était naturellement le drapeau britannique de l'Union Jack pour montrer au monde que les stylos Conway Stewart étaient toujours vivants et fabriqués en Grande-Bretagne. La même entreprise de plumes qui a fabriqué les plumes CS originales a été utilisée pour fabriquer les plumes Flag, et elles ont été gravées à Birmingham, en Angleterre, avec le logo Flag. Ces nouvelles pointes ont été universellement louées pour être des écrivains lisses et beaux dès la sortie de la boîte, et beaucoup les considéraient comme de meilleures pointes que les anciennes pointes CS. 

La société a continué à fournir des stylos à certaines des entreprises les plus prestigieuses au monde telles que Rolls Royce qui a commandé 35 stylos en argent sterling sur mesure pour son modèle 2018 Silver Ghost Limited Edition. 

Heure la plus sombre

Un stylo plume Churchill Classic Black a été utilisé dans un autre film célèbre lancé en 2017 intitulé The Darkest Hour avec Gary Oldman dans le rôle de Winston Churchill. 

Lire le blog

Kingsman

Ils ont également fourni les stylos pour divers films célèbres, dont les films Kingsman : The Secret Service et The Golden Circle. Dans le premier film de Kingsman, l'un des stylos, un Marlborough Vintage Ebonite Lever Fill, a un rôle majeur à jouer car il a été utilisé pour tuer le personnage de Michael Caine, Arthur. 

Lire le blog

Indiana Jones

Dans la scène emblématique à l'intérieur d'un char Panzer, le personnage de Connery, Henry Jones Sr., utilise le mécanisme de remplissage à levier pour faire gicler de l'encre dans l'œil d'un opérateur de char nazi, pour sauver la vie de son ami Marcus Brody et celle de son fils, Indiana Jones. interprété par Harrison Ford. La scène se termine par le commentaire humoristique de Marcus Brody "Henry, Le Stylo. Vous ne voyez pas ? Le stylo est plus puissant que l'épée!".

Lire le blog

Patrimoine de Churchill

La société a également renouvelé ses liens avec la famille Churchill et a lancé la gamme de stylos Churchill Heritage pour soutenir Churchill Heritage Ltd, par laquelle la famille Churchill distribue de l'argent à des œuvres de bienfaisance et à de bonnes causes qui perpétuent l'héritage de Sir Winston Churchill et l'esprit des mots. de sagesse qu'il a écrit. Chaque stylo Churchill Heritage porte la signature de Winston Churchill gravée sur le corps avec l'une de ses paroles célèbres. Le deuxième stylo de la série, "NEVER GIVE IN" est un axiome approprié pour les directeurs de l'entreprise qui étaient déterminés à ce que Conway Stewart continue à vivre. 

TOUT IRA BIEN

SOLDER

JAMAIS CÉDER

SOLDER

ACTION CE JOUR

ACHETONS

JE SUIS UN OPTIMISTE

ACHETONS

Le nom de domaine du site Web, conwaystewart.com, a été acheté et relancé peu de temps après le nom commercial "Conway Stewart" (certificat d'enregistrement de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle de l'Union européenne n° 1. 017948469), et la marque Conway Stewart (certificat d'enregistrement de l'Office de la propriété intellectuelle de l'Union européenne n° 018074073) ont été obtenus par Bespoke British Pens. Ed Adams a rejoint l'entreprise en tant qu'actionnaire et a joué un rôle déterminant dans la conception du nouveau site Web, www.conwaystewart.com et la relance de Conway Stewart auprès d'un public mondial.

Fabriqué à la main par des maîtres fabricants de stylos, le riche héritage de Conway Stewart repose dans votre main chaque fois que vous utilisez l'un de ces magnifiques stylos britanniques. Nous pensons que, que vous donniez ou receviez un de nos stylos - ou que vous l'achetiez pour votre propre usage - il vous procurera une vie de plaisir et deviendra un compagnon précieux. Lorsque Conway Stewart a été fondée en 1905, Jarvis et Garner avaient un seul objectif : produire des instruments d'écriture élégants, intemporels et fonctionnels. Aujourd'hui, plus de cent ans plus tard, nous restons fidèles à ces objectifs initiaux. Luxe, histoire et enchantement combinés - nous espérons que vous serez d'accord.

Faisons nos courses

This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

🎁 LAST DAY TO PLACE ORDERS FOR CHRISTMAS DELIVERY PENS 12th DECEMBER ACCESSORIES 19th DECEMBER 🎁

Conway Stewart through the ages | est. 1905 to Present Day

History

1905

The Beginning

In 1905, Mr. Frank Jarvis and Mr. Tommy Garner formed Conway Stewart & Co. Limited at 13 Paternoster Row EC1, next to St Paul’s Cathedral in London. Today, this area is known as Paternoster Square having been redeveloped after its complete destruction during the Blitz of World War II. Although there is much debate regarding the origins of the Company’s name, it is believed that the name “Conway Stewart” derives from a popular vaudeville act of the day. Conway and Stewart were supposedly a comedy double act who appeared at Collins Music Hall in Islington. The two entrepreneurs, took a great risk in leaving their secured jobs to start a new enterprise reselling fountain pens made by other manufacturers. They concentrated their energies and invested in importing pens from the United States.

London in 1905

After an arduous month

of persistent selling of their stock, they reaped the rewards of a rather healthy turnover of more than £13 and 9 shillings. This was a great accomplishment considering that the rent for their business premises was only five shillings a week. Even though this turnover would be pleasing to many new ventures, the strength of De La Rue in the fountain pen market made it impossible for the company to continue selling no-named fountain pens. In the same year, De La Rue reportedly invested £50,000 in a promotion campaign for their new launch, the Onoto. However, Garner and Jarvis soon recognized there was an audience desiring good, reliable writing instruments that were also affordable. This is when Conway Stewart began to capture a market amongst the English. Jarvis and Garner developed a single aim, to produce elegant and beautiful, yet functional writing instruments – a principle that Conway Stewart holds true to this day.

The Golden Years

Roaring 20s was the golden age for fountain pens and Conway Stewart was suitably placed at the beating heart of this worldwide expansion

London in 1920s

The 1920s was an excellent decade for the courageous owners. Not only did they trademark the name of the business ‘Conway Stewart’, but also their list of filling mechanisms available expanded to include eyedroppers, lever fillers, pump fillers and safeties. While the first of these pens were almost indistinguishable from others of that period, by 1925 Conway Stewart was coming into their own in terms of design.

A trademark for the name “Dinkie” was registered in 1924, along with a patent for a new locking lever mechanism. Conway Stewart was rapidly growing in popularity and demand. So much so that they were taking away market shares from other dominant pen manufacturers. Another introduction around this time was the use of brightly coloured celluloid. In the 1920s, Conway Stewart were offering dozens of different colours in their various lines, and the customer could choose from either the simple and conservative, the bright and cheerful, or the downright flamboyant.

The pens of this period were very well made, and of high quality, yet remained affordable. The wide range of models and materials allowed Conway Stewart to truly offer “something for everyone” when it came to fountain pens. This reasonable pricing and successful marketing contributed to the success of Conway Stewart for the next decade. They invested in new premises in 1927, which became their headquarters for the next two decades. As the depression of the 1930s hit, Conway Stewart was in the enviable position of marketing pens that were considered “good value”.

Although this decade proved to be a low point for Conway Stewart in terms of profit, they were able to ride out the depression successfully. Colourful plastics soon became a signature for Conway Stewart. It is interesting to note that they did not designate titles for their designs. The names we recognise today have been adopted by collectors over the years. As an example, Cracked Ice and Reversed Cracked Ice were used for many of their models for over 25 years, together with Tiger Eye, another favourite.

By the middle of the decade, Conway Stewart was ready to expand, and in 1935 they went public, with shares being offered to raise capital. Advertising campaigns managed to keep the name Conway Stewart in the forefront of the public mind, in much the same way as advertising by Sheaffer, Parker and De La Rue. The 1950s proved to be a continuation of the “golden age” for Conway Stewart, with many of their materials from this era being eagerly sought after today by collectors around the world.

The Herringbone pattern and many versions of marbled colours are very popular today. Even more notable is the Number 22 Floral, with its flowered design set on a cream background. Today, over fifty years after its launch, there are still many discussions concerning the Floral. Was production limited due to the complexity of the material or was the market not ready to accept such an exotic plastic? Either way, whenever a mint No.22 Floral is found for sale today, there is always a demanding audience of pen collectors.

Unfortunately, the 1950s also ushered in the era of injection molding for the manufacture of pens. This led to the use of solid coloured plastics in place of the wonderful patterned celluloids. By 1957, the Conway Stewart line was represented with pens that, while still very well made, and reliable writers, were not in the same league in terms of appearance. It was at this time that the first ballpoint pens were offered by Conway Stewart.

1940s | War Torn London

The End of an Era

The 1950s provided the last of the great Conway Stewart models. The company began to stagnate through the 1960s as the market turned relentlessly towards the disposable ballpoint. The company persevered in trying to keep up with the market trends with their ball pen and also by launching the 106, a cartridge pen mounted with a semi-hooded nib. In the 1960's the company was sold and relocated to Wales, where the last pen rolled of their production floor in 1975. Following a significant investment in research and development, a new era began with a focus on making pens for those who appreciate traditional craftsmanship, objects of timeless beauty and utility, and the pleasure of using a fine pen. Not to mention the ever growing number of pen collectors around the world who treasure the Conway Stewart name and all that it stood for as Britain’s greatest pen maker. Thus a new era of Conway Stewart was born.

London in 1950s

The Dawn of the Second Golden Age

1990s see Conway Stewart rise from the ashes the company launched a range of pens made from solid gold; “The Gold Collection” to showcase the work of English master craftsmen in various fields, including hand painting, enamelling and engraving. These fantastic pieces which can sell for £10,000 ($18,000) and more continued Conway Stewart’s tradition of excellence and are fitting companions to the pens of earlier generations. In 1996 the Churchill model was introduced to celebrate the life of Sir Winston Churchill and his prolific interest in writing and literature throughout his lifetime. To celebrate the company’s Centenary in 2005 the new One Hundred Series was launched, produced in various handmade resins. Accompanying the 100, the stunning Silver Duro pens arrived on the market. Made from pure English sterling silver over-laid with resin veneer, the sterling silver Duro echoes the great designs of the Edwardian era. Also launched to celebrate the 100 year anniversary of Conway Stewart were several limited editions, detailed on our limited editions page. Owners of modern Conway Stewarts are in excellent company, as Conway Stewart pens have always been the preferred choice of the most discerning and famous people from around the world and this tradition continues to this day. Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and The Duke of Edinburgh were presented with two Conway Stewart pens from “The Gold Collection” to commemorate their Golden Wedding Anniversary. British Prime Minister Tony Blair presented Russian President Putin with a Conway Stewart Churchill Burgundy Fountain pen on a state visit to Russia and French President Jacques Chirac was given a Brown Marble Churchill to celebrate his 70th birthday in 2002.

London in 1990s

2005

Conway Stewart, chosen pen for G8 summit

At which Prime Minister Blair presented a Conway Stewart No 58 set to each of the G8 world leaders. President Bush and President Clinton have both owned Conway Stewart pens. Conway Stewart also created exclusive pens for many prestigious corporate and government accounts, including the Royal Air Force, the Red Arrows, Rolls Royce, Mensa, as well as numerous other high profile corporate accounts. Rick Wakeman, rock star and pen enthusiast, has a large collection of Conway Stewart pens of which he is justifiably proud.

2014 to Present Day

The Conway Stewart Story continues...

In August 2014, the doors of the Conway Stewart Plymouth factory were suddenly closed when the company went into administration. Was this the end? 

London 2021

Fortunately, a company called Bespoke British Pens Limited bought most of the stock from the factory in Plymouth and all the technical drawings of all the pens. The directors were Alastair Adams (previously Managing Director of Onoto), David Cooper (previously Marketing Director of Onoto), Peter Robinson (previously Managing Director of Carville who made the components for the Parker Duofold and Onoto), and Francis Katz (a lawyer, an avid pen collector and owner of Inkwell Pens).

Originally based in the Isle of Wight, they later set up a workshop in Emsworth in Hampshire near to where their Production Director, Peter Robinson, lived. In early 2015 they started to assemble Conway Stewart pens from the original components and sold them worldwide directly to the public via the website and through a select small number of retailers. The range of Conway Stewart pens on sale on the website grew each month as new pens were launched using the original materials acquired from the Plymouth factory. 

The range included the Churchill, Winston, Series 100, Series 58, Wordsworth, Wellington, Nelson, Marlborough, Belliver, Capulet, Dandy, Bard, Coronet, Duro, Henry Simpole’s: Marilyn Monroe pen, Raleigh, and the Regency. 

These pens used the original CS branded nibs bought from the administrators, but soon these nibs were all sold, so the Flag 18ct gold semi-flex nibs were launched. The “Flag” was naturally the British Union Jack flag to show the world that Conway Stewart pens were still alive and being made in Great Britain. The same nib company that made the original CS nibs was used to make the Flag nibs, and they were engraved in Birmingham, England with the Flag logo. These new nibs were universally praised for being smooth and beautiful writers straight from the box, and many regarded them better nibs than the old CS nibs. 

The company continued to supply pens to some of the world’s most prestigious companies such as Rolls Royce who ordered 35 bespoke Sterling Silver pens for their 2018 Silver Ghost Limited Edition model. 

Darkest Hour

A Churchill Classic Black Fountain Pen was used in another famous film launched in 2017 called The Darkest Hour starring Gary Oldman as Winston Churchill. 

Read Blog

Kingsman

They also supplied the pens for various famous films including the Kingsman films: The Secret Service, and The Golden Circle. In the first Kingsman film, one of the pens, a Marlborough Vintage Ebonite Lever Fill, has a major role to play as it was used to kill Michael Caine’s character, Arthur. 

Read blog

Indiana Jones

In the iconic scene inside a Panzer tank, Connery’s character Henry Jones Sr., uses the lever-fill mechanism to squirt ink in the eye of a Nazi tank operator, to save his friend Marcus Brody’s life, and that of his son’s, Indiana Jones played by Harrison Ford. The scene finishes with Marcus Brody’s humorous comment “Henry, The Pen. Don’t you see? The pen is mightier than the sword!”.

Read blog

Churchill Heritage

The company also renewed its links with the Churchill family and launched the Churchill Heritage range of pens to support Churchill Heritage Ltd through which the Churchill family distributes money to charities and good causes that keep alive the legacy of Sir Winston Churchill and the spirit of the words of wisdom he penned. Each Churchill Heritage pen has Winston Churchill’s signature engraved on the barrel with one of his famous sayings. The second pen in the series, “NEVER GIVE IN” is a fitting axiom for the directors of the company who were determined that Conway Stewart should live on. 

ALL WILL BE WELL

SOLD OUT

NEVER GIVE IN

SOLD OUT

ACTION THIS DAY

LET'S SHOP

I AM AN OPTIMIST

LET'S SHOP

The website domain name, conwaystewart.com, was bought and relaunched soon after the Trade name “Conway Stewart” (European Union of Intellectual Property Office Certificate of Registration No. 017948469), and the Conway Stewart Trademark (European Union of Intellectual Property Office Certificate of Registration No. 018074073) were obtained by Bespoke British Pens. Ed Adams joined the company as a shareholder, and was instrumental in designing the new website, www.conwaystewart.com and re-launching Conway Stewart to a global audience.

Handcrafted by master pen makers, the rich heritage of Conway Stewart rests in your hand every time you use one of these beautiful British pens. We believe that whether you are giving or receiving one of our pens – or perhaps buying it for your own use – it will provide a lifetime of pleasure and become a cherished companion. When Conway Stewart was founded in 1905, Jarvis and Garner had a single aim, to produce elegant, timelessly beautiful, yet functional writing instruments. Today, more than one hundred years later, we still hold true to those original goals. Luxury, history and enchantment combined – we hope you will agree.

Let's Shop

Bag

No more products available for purchase

Your bag is currently empty.